Connecticut Family and Medical Leave (FML)

Coverage, duration of unpaid family and medical leave in Connecticut.

See also:

Who is eligible for the Connecticut FML?

Employees who have 1000 hours service with an employer during the 12-month period before the leave.

You are covered if you work:
- for an employer with 75 or more employees;
- for at least 12 months and;
- for at least 12 hours of service.

You are not covered if you work for:
the state;
a municipality;
a local or regional board of education;
or a private or parochial elementary;
or secondary school.

Duration of Leave?

A total of sixteen workweeks of leave during any twenty-four-month period, but if your spouse works for the same employer, you have to share the 16 weeks of leave.

Paid or unpaid?

Unpaid leave.

Leave can be used for?

-caring/bonding for a new born, adoptive or foster care child;
- for you own serious health condition, or to care for a spouse, child, parent with a serious health - condition;
- or to serve as an organ or bone marrow donor.

Unpaid FML in combination with Paid Leave?

If your employer provides paid leave fewer than 16 weeks, the additional FML may be provided without pay.
You may elect, or your employer may require to substitute accrued paid vacation leave, personal leave or family leave for any part of the 16-week period.

Do you have to give notice?

If the leave is foreseeable 30 days notice, before the date of the leave is to begin, if unforeseen  as soon as possible.


Your employer may require that your request for FML is supported by certification issued by a health care provider.

Job and benefits protection during leave?

After your leave your entitled to be restored to the position you had when the leave started. If the original position is unavailable you have right to be restored in the equivalent of that position, with the same benefits, pay and other terms and conditions of employment. 
Your leave shall not result in the loss of employment benefits accrued prior to the date on which the leave started. 

Violation of the FMLA

If you think your FMLS rights are violated you may file a complaint with the Labor Commissioner

Read the Connecticut FML act in full

See also: Connecticut Paid Sick Leave

See also: The Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA) 

Update: 09/30/16

<!-- /15944428/ --> <div id='div-gpt-ad-1604915830963-0'> <script> googletag.cmd.push(function() { googletag.display('div-gpt-ad-1604915830963-0'); }); </script> </div>