California's Paid Sick Leave

California's sick leave act - US

With enacting the 'Healthy Workplaces, Healthy Families Act of 2014" all California employers will be required to provide paid sick leave to employees effective starting July 1 2015.

Who is entitled to Sick Leave?

An employee who, on or after July 1, 2015, works in California 30 or more days - full-time, part-time or temporary or seasonal -  within a year and has completed 90 days of employment with that employer.

If an employee is covered by a collective bargaining agreement that CBA will govern instead of the Act.

How much Paid Sick leave?

Employees will accrue at a rate of no less than one hour pay for every 30 hours worked, but cannot use the accrued paid sick days until the 90th day of employment.

Employees who are exempt from the Californian overtime requirements have to work 40 hours in a week.

Employees must be paid at their regular, hourly pay of rate.

Accrued paid sick leave must carry over to the following year, but the employer may: 

  • cap an employee’s use of paid sick days to 24 hours or three days in each year of employment.
  • limit an employee’s total accrual of paid sick leave to 48 hours or six days.
  • not provide compensation to an employee for accrued, unused paid sick days upon the employee’s separation from employment 

What is Appropriate Use of Sick Leave?

  • Diagnosis, care or treatment of an existing health condition of, or preventive care for, an employee or an employee’s family member,” or:
  • Leave needed if a victim of domestic violence, sexual assault or stalking.


The cities Oakland, San Francisco, San Diego and Santa Monica have own paid sick leave requirements, see the section Paid Sick Leave US Cities.
<!-- /15944428/ --> <div id='div-gpt-ad-1604915830963-0'> <script> googletag.cmd.push(function() { googletag.display('div-gpt-ad-1604915830963-0'); }); </script> </div>